Contact Us 301-705-5137

How Long Do Points Stay on Your License in Maryland?

In Maryland, you’ll get demerit points for every traffic offense you commit. If you accumulate 8 points or more within two years, the MVA will suspend your driver’s license. But if the points reach 12, they will revoke it. MVA suspensions last anywhere between one to three years, depending on how long your Charles County Criminal Attorney takes to get you out of the red zone.

Also, MVA can request you to conduct a test. If you refuse that test, they will suspend your driver’s license for 120 days. Subsequent traffic violations may lead to a one-year suspension. Consider getting expert guidance from Charles County traffic violation lawyers to know how the MVA suspension works if stuck at anything.

What Adds Points?

You add points every time you violate traffic rules or cause an accident, punishable by the MVA laws. The number of points you get on your driving license depends on the severity of the offense. Some offenses don’t add points, so you may need to talk to criminal lawyers in Charles County MD, for insights.

Below are the most popular offenses and their respective cumulative points:

  • Careless driving (1 point)
  • Reckless driving (1 point)
  • Negligent driving (3 points)
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (12 points)
  • Driving while impaired by drugs or alcohol (8 points)

Most Charles County traffic accidents occur for multiple reasons. Therefore, the judge may sum up all the offenses and their points in a suspension ruling.

How Long Do They Stay?

In Maryland, demerit points stay up to 2 years, after which the MVA drops them automatically. However, some points may last longer, depending on the severity of the offense. At the Law Office of Robert Castro, you can get all the resources you need to know various durations and how they apply to your situation.

For example, when convicted of speeding over 25 mph, your points will remain on your record for two years. But if you face charges of negligent manslaughter caused by reckless driving, the points may last for three years.

Can They Be Reduced?

Yes, it’s possible to drop your demerit points in Maryland. However, if you have more than 7 points on your license, the court may direct you to take a defensive course.

The first step is to request an informal conference with the MVA. You have 30 days from the date of the infraction to fill out the informal conference form from the MVA website and download it. Once you complete this form, you will need to send it to MVA by mail or fax. Expect a reply from them within 10 days of receiving your request.

At your informal conference, an officer from the MVA’s Driver Improvement Section will review your driving history. They then discuss ways in which you can avoid future violations. In addition, they may suggest taking a defensive driving course. This course aims at helping offenders improve their driving skills. It costs around $100 and can reduce your demerit points by 8.

Can They Be Removed?

The short answer is no. Maryland only removes points from offenses proven beyond doubt to be invalid. So, if you can hire any of the Charles County Criminal Lawyers to argue your case right, you may be off the hook.

If you have received a ticket and paid for it, MVA cannot revoke the points. Instead, the MVA will determine the conditions you got the points during the informal conference. If they were valid, you would have to wait for the two-year gap for the points to expire.

But if you have completed your defensive driving course within 90 days, you may file for an accident forgiveness program. The MVA will reassess your citations and check whether you had a violation during the period you were undertaking the course. If there were no violations, the MVA would reduce your points by 8.

How My Attorney Can Help?

The role of an attorney is to handle your court appearance and bargain surcharges or insurance premiums on your behalf. Most traffic offenses often lead to suspensions. An expert attorney should be able to argue your case to help you avoid suspensions and points.

At Charles County Traffic Violation attorney, we have the right expertise to put your case on the right path. Schedule an appointment with us today, and we will assign you the best attorney to take you through the litigation process from the start to finish.