Contact Us 301-705-5137

Underage Drinking Crimes and Underage DUI in Charles County, Maryland

In Waldorf, MD, and other parts of Southern Maryland, a person is legally considered an adult when they turn 21. Maryland criminalizes “underage drinking” (and drug use). In particular, in Maryland, it is a crime for those under the age of 21 cannot purchase, drink, and/or possess alcohol. Further, like anyone of any age, Maryland prohibits and criminalizes drinking and driving. The penalties are enhanced for underage DUIs. If you have been arrested for underage drinking or underage DUI here in Maryland, call for a consultation with the top-tier Maryland criminal defense lawyers at the Law Office of Robert Castro. Call us at (301) 705-5137. We are criminal defense lawyers located in Waldorf, Maryland, providing criminal defense services in Charles County, Prince George’s County, Calvert county, St. Mary’s county, and other parts of Southern Maryland. Here is more information on underage drinking laws in Maryland.


If you are caught purchasing, possessing, or consuming alcohol when you are under the age of 21, you face a fine of $500 for your first offense and $1,000 for your second or subsequent offense. There is, however, no jail time. These offenses are considered misdemeanor crimes and are eligible (in some cases) for expungement after a number of years.

Underage DUIs or driving while under the influence is a more serious crime. Maryland has a “no tolerance” rule for underage drinking. While an adult can be convicted of DUI with a blood alcohol content of 0.08%, for those under 21, the BAC is a mere 0.02%. Penalties are the same for adults being a possible term of imprisonment of up to 12 months, fines of up to $1,000, twelve “points” assessed against your driving record, possible six-month revocation of driving privileges, and the requirement that you participate in an ignition interlock program.


There are some exceptions for the possession of alcohol for restaurant servers. If they are employed at an establishment with a liquor license, then servers may “possess” alcohol for the purpose of serving customers.

For drinking alcohol, there are exceptions for religious ceremonies (like drinking ceremonial wine) and for drinking allowed at home when parents have given permission and are present.

Related Charges

There are a couple of important related charges involving fake identifications (commonly used by those under the age of 21 to purchase alcohol). Possessing a fake ID while underage is a misdemeanor, and if caught and convicted, the person faces a fine of up to $500, up to 60 days in jail, and 12 “points” assessed against their driving record. Selling fake IDs is also a crime. Those caught and convicted face $2000 in fines and up to two years in jail (for each fake ID sold). Furnishing alcohol to those under the age of 21 is also a crime. Those caught and convicted face fines of up to $2500 for the first violation.

Contact Waldorf, Maryland Criminal Defense Lawyer Robert Castro Today

This article has been provided by the Law Office of Robert Castro. For more information or questions, contact our office to speak to an experienced Maryland criminal defense lawyer at (301) 705-5137. We are Waldorf, MD, Criminal Defense lawyers. Our address is: 2670 Crain Highway, Waldorf, MD, 20601.